Why I hate lecterns!

I’m short, or as I have been called “vertically challenged”.

When I go to a lectern to speak, I am often too short to really see over and connect effectively with the audience.  It is rare to find a lectern that I can clearly see over and thus the I feel disconnected from those I am seeking to engage.  It is possible to bring in a step or a pile of phone books which was used once but now might be difficult to find but this is hardly an elegant solution.

My solution is to ask for a lapel mike and move away from the lectern altogether. This gives me the freedom to better connect as there is no barrier between me and the audience . I take a strong pose on the stage: no rocking, no criss cross legs and no folded arms. It does mean that I need to talk with either no notes or a few cards. (Remember to wear something like pants or have a belt to hook the microphone at the back)

My second option is to suggest a panel or interview style where chairs on a stage make height difference less obvious. (Remember to check if they will use stool and don’t get perched on a stool in a very short skirt).

So please, if you are organising a conference and have female speakers, consider how you can support them to be at their best and to maximise audience engagement.

Leave a comment